Medal of Honor recipients from Washington recognized by Senate Wednesday

MOH croppedThe state Senate adopted two resolutions today sponsored by Sen. Steve O’Ban, R-University Place, recognizing two of the three recent Medal of Honor recipients who reside in Washington. Staff Sergeant Ty Michael Carter was honored with Senate Resolution 8713 for his heroic actions in the Kamdesh district of the Nuristan Province of Afghanistan, followed by Sergeant Leroy Arthur Petry who received a similar honor with Senate Resolution 8714 for his sacrifice in Afghanistan’s Paktia Province.

“It’s truly an honor to bring these two resolutions before the Senate,” said O’Ban, who represents the 28th Legislative District. “They’ve given so much for our country, gone way above and beyond what they signed up for and helped to save the lives of their comrades in arms. I’m extremely proud that these fine Americans call Washington State their home, and I hope they choose to remain here for a very long time.”

Sergeant Carter was present for the adoption of SR 8713, while Petry, who is stationed at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, was unable to attend as he is on active duty. However, a public ceremony for all three recent Washington Medal of Honor recipients is scheduled for 11 a.m. April 2, at which Petry will be presented with a copy of SR 8714.

During a firefight with the Taliban on May 26, 2008, enemy combatants lobbed a grenade in the direction of Petry and his unit. With little regard for his own safety, Petry picked up the grenade and attempted to throw it out of the area where he and his fellow fighters had sought refuge. The grenade exploded in his hand, but Petry’s actions helped shield his fellow soldiers and provided them with the opportunity to return fire while safely withdrawing from the combat area.

On Oct. 3, 2009, Carter and his unit were attacked by more than 300 enemy combatants. He was able to retrieve additional weapons and ammunition to bring back to his station, treat the wounds of fallen soldiers and carry one over 100 meters to a first-aid station where he helped keep his comrade alive until reinforcements arrived to assist in evacuation efforts.

The Senate honored the third Washington-based recipient of the Medal of Honor, U.S. Army Capt. William Swenson, earlier this year.